Skip to main content

Te Rōpū Pounamu

Te Rōpū Pounamu is a Māori network within the Green Party Aotearoa New Zealand, established in 2000 after the Ōtaki Summer hui. At a hui at Hirangi Marae in December 2001 we agreed on our overall relationship with the Green Party. We resolved that:

"Acknowledging the Green Party's commitment to honouring te Tiriti o Waitangi Te Roopu Pounamu accepts the responsibility to actively support and advocate for the inclusion of a Māori dimension in all Green Party processes, policies and practices, in the context of a reciprocal relationship of aroha between Te Roopu Pounamu and the wider Green Party."

Office Holders

Wāhine co-convenor: Ani Capper ani [dot] capper [at] greens [dot] org [dot] nz

Tāne co-convenor: Wetini Paul wetini [dot] paul [at] greens [dot] org [dot] nz

Representative on Green Party Executive: Jack McDonald

Representative on Green Party Policy Executive: Marama Davidson

Greens Māori Caucus: Metiria Turei (co-leader). Denise Roche, David Clendon

Representative on Māori Caucus: Morgan Godfrey

Northeast Province Representative: Wetini Paul

Waikato Province Representative: Robert Moore


Tāmaki Makaurau

Marama Davidson, marama [dot] davidson [at] greens [dot] org [dot] nz

Te Tai Hauāuru

Jack McDonald, jack [dot] mcdonald [at] greens [dot] org [dot] nz

Te Tai Tonga

Dora Langsbury, dora [dot] langsbury [at] greens [dot] org [dot] nz


Henare Kani, henare [at] whanau [dot] biz

Other electorates

Tau Huirama and Dora Langsbury

^ Back to Top